Magpie Madness

3 Nov

The other day I was attacked by a magpie on the way to work. The bird came swooping down at me and actually touched my helmet with its beak – I almost fell off my bike… And I’ve been taking a little detour ever since, as I’m a peaceful person and didn’t want to risk another run-in with Mrs Bird.
I’m sure people thought I was exaggerating when I told them this story. And then, oh satisfaction, I read this article in the paper over breakfast this morning. See, I was right, Bunbury birds are mad!!🙂

20121103-132941.jpg

6 Responses to “Magpie Madness”

  1. Rahel November 3, 2012 at 5:17 pm #

    Yes, can confirm that they can be rather nasty when breeding! Were also attacked once on our way to school! But they sound quite nice, no? Or am I mixing them up?

    Hope the weather is improving, dear.

    • anitadownunder November 3, 2012 at 10:50 pm #

      Just checked the weather forecast and it will remain cold and rainy the entire next week. Where is that Australian summer I was promised?

  2. Ursina November 3, 2012 at 5:35 pm #

    Hitchcock lässt grüssen. Und wie heisst es doch so schön über die Elstern: One for sorrow, two for joy, three for a girl, four for a boy … Mmmh, but I don’t think it would be very enJOYable to be attacked by two of these murderous (mischivous, malevolent, mad, miffed) magpies … Maybe someone devises a crazy bird shield just like the one you use against the sharks.

  3. Heidi und Fritz November 3, 2012 at 9:35 pm #

    Anita du musst dir hinten auf deinen Helm zwei Augen malen, dann lassen dich diese Elstern in Ruhe. Sie mögen keinen Blickkontakt hab ich im Internet gelesen.

    Liebe Grüsse dein Schwiegervater

Leave a Reply

